Kyle Teaser – Children at the Window

He slipped around me and into the bathroom just to our left, leaving me in between the bathroom and my bedroom. A few seconds later, he popped back out with my makeup compact in his hand. I raised my eyebrows at him, but he only shook his head at me.

 

Kyle slipped around me and crouched to the floor. I realized then what he was doing. He opened the compact and angled the mirror underneath the door. I leaned over him as he played with the angles. I caught fragments of images; my ceiling, the corner of the dresser, and then a flash of something black. It happened so quickly I had no idea what I saw but it made my heart drum hard in my chest.

giphy-7

I knew Kyle had seen it too because his body tensed for a fraction of a second. I leaned into him as he leaned toward the mirror – both of us desperate to see what was going on. Again, fragments of my room came into view and then we heard the shuffling of feet, inches from the door. We froze. Fear gripped me as I wondered if whoever it was would open the door while we were both crouched on the floor, vulnerable to an attack.

 

Kyle and I watched my door handle, waiting for it to turn, but there was nothing. It wasn’t until I looked back down at the mirror that I realized what the black object was from. The mirror rested in Kyle’s hand, at just the right angle. We both looked down at the mirror at the same time to see solid black eyes staring back at us — using the mirror to their advantage as well.

Leave a comment